Sydney Morning Herald Chess Column for December 18

Xie Jun retains World title

World Women's Champion 30 year old Xie Jun (China) retained her World title by winning the 68 player World Championship knockout match tournament in New Delhi. Xie Jun defeated Qin Kanying (China) 2.5 - 1.5 in the final.

Xie Jun first won the World Championship title in 1991 on her 21st birthday defeating Maya Chiburdanidze (Georgia) 8.5-6.5.

Viswanathan Anand (India), the top seed, eliminated the defending Men's World Champion Alexander Khalifman (Russia) 3.5-2.5 in a quarter final match.

Michael Adams (England) beat Veselin Topalov (Bulgaria) 1.5-0.5

17 year old Alexander Grischuk (Russia) toppled Vladislav Tkachiev (France) 2.5-1.5 and Alexei Shirov (Spain) won 2.5-1.5 against Evgeny Bareev.

In the semi-finals Anand beat Adams 2.5 - 1.5 and Shirov won 2.5 -1.5 against Grischuk. The six game World Title Match between Anand and Shirov starts in Tehran,Iran on Wednesday.

Anand and Shirov drew an exhibition match during the Olympic Games in Sydney.

International Master John- Paul Wallace drew his last round game with George Xie in the NSW Championship to finish outright first. Sixty year old Paul Dozsa seeded 16th scored 3 wins and one draw against the four highest rated players and won his last round game against Phillip Viner,the Australian Seniors Champion. Brett Tindall needs to defeat three time NSW Champion Greg Canfell to finish second equal with Dozsa. The NSWCA has re-scheduled the unplayed game to be completed by Christmas.

Scores (22 players,9rounds) J.Wallace 7.5 P.Dozsa 7 A.Flatow 6.5 B.Tindall 6 (x) A.Chek 5.5 G.Canfell 5 (x)

14 year old Kuan-Kuan Tian the defending champion scored 5 points, International Master Vladimir Feldman the top seed 4 .5 and Sydney champion Michael Walsh 2.

The under 2000 rated event was won by Edward Lee scoring 7/9 followed by George Winter and Ilya Zvedeniouk on 6.5 points. Erik Bergseng won the under 1600 rated tournament with 8/9.

Leading final scores in the Berger Cup at Hakoah Club,Bondi D.Vinnik 7.5/9 K.Hursky 6 U1750 A.Rozentsvaig 7.5/9

Grandmaster Darryl Johansen,the Australian Champion,has won the Victorian Championship with 9/10 half a point ahead of Mirko Rujevic.

The Centenary of Federation Australian Open will be held from 28th December 2000 to 9th January 2001 at Rydges Lakeside, London Circuit, Canberra City.

The 4 International grandmasters are the top 4 seeds and a fifth grandmaster is still a possibility.

Ian Rogers 2558 of Sydney, Australia's leading player, Alexander Volzhin (Russia 2556), Darryl Johansen (Melbourne 2505, Australian Champion) and Stefan Djuric (Yugoslavia 2472). Entries have also been received from 10 International Masters. For further details of the Open and supporting tournaments.

Contact Andrew Greenwood Tel 0403-191-777

The Australian Junior Championships will also be held in Canberra (in 4 sections). The venue is the Hellenic Club,Phillip ACT and the dates are 11th to 23rd January 2001. Details Deborah Poulton 026 231 8577.